Papyrus bookmark

April 27, 2010

This Egyptian bookmark is hand made on papyrus, and shows the Hieroglyphic Alphabet:

Egyptian hieroglyphs (from Greek ἱερογλύφος “sacred carving”) was a formal writing system used by the ancient Egyptians that contained a combination of logographic and alphabetic elements. Egyptians used cursive hieroglyphs for religious literature on papyrus, wood, and also on walls.

Egyptian Hieroglyphs on wall (Wikipedia.org)

6 Responses to “Papyrus bookmark”

  1. Joni Says:

    I have one just like this I got at Busch Gardens back in ’97, its my fave!

  2. sam Says:

    I was given one of these bookmaks and have had it for over 16 years. I am wondering how much i could sell it for. Im sure not much, im not expecting a large amount of money.
    thanks

  3. Dori Says:

    I have this one too :) I bought it in Hurgada :)


Leave a Reply

  • options

  • Stats

  • License

    Most entries on this blog contain text copied originally from Wikipedia.com. According to the Wikimedia project's Terms of Use, I can do so as long as I link to the
  • Creative Commons Attribution-Share-Alike License
  • Images come from Wikimedia Commons and can also be copied and shared under the same license. I'll contact owners of images taken from other websites.
